Monthly Archives :

April 2016

Hieronymus Bosch, "The seven deadly sins and the four last things."

Hieronymus Bosch

1080 921 Lines & Marks

[vc_row seperator_indeed_locker=”” lk_t=”ism_template_1″ lk_io=”default” lk_dm=”0″ lk_thm=”0″ lk_tuo=”0″ section_id=”start”][vc_column][grve_divider padding_top=”25″ padding_bottom=”25″][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row seperator_indeed_locker=”” lk_t=”ism_template_1″ lk_io=”default” lk_dm=”0″ lk_thm=”0″ lk_tuo=”0″ lk_dt=” ” section_id=”start”][vc_column][vc_column_text]

Hieronymus Bosch (1450 – 1516) was an Early Netherlandish painter. His work is known for its fantastic imagery, detailed landscapes, and illustrations of religious concepts and narratives. Within his lifetime his work was collected in the Netherlands, Austria, and Spain, and widely copied, especially his macabre and nightmarish depictions of hell…

[/vc_column_text][TS_VCSC_Image_Magnify image=”7122″ zoom_range=”false” zoom_level=”400″ zoom_size=”250″ zoom_x=”65″ zoom_y=”18″ zoom_circle=”false” zoom_outside=”true”][vc_column_text]

Hieronymus Bosch, “The Garden of Earthly Delights.”

[/vc_column_text][grve_divider padding_top=”25″][vc_column_text]

[foogallery id=”7144″]


Bosch painted in a comparatively sketchy manner, contrasting with the traditional Flemish style of painting in which the smooth surface—achieved by the application of multiple transparent glazes—conceals the brushwork. Bosch’s paintings with their rough surfaces, so called impasto painting, differed from the tradition of the great Netherlandish painters of the end of the 15th, and beginning of the 16th centuries, who wished to hide the work done and so suggest their paintings as more nearly divine creations. (wiki)

[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][cq_vc_beforeafter beforeimage=”7191″ afterimage=”7190″ autoslide=”0″][vc_column_text]

Right side: Painting, Detail, “Garden of Earthly delights”  |  Left side: Drawing, “The Tree man.”

[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row lk_dm=”0″ lk_thm=”0″ lk_tuo=”0″ lk_dt=” “][vc_column][dzs_parallaxer media=”” clip_height=”1200″ total_height=”1634″][/dzs_parallaxer][vc_column_text]

Hieronymus Bosch, “The seven deadly sins and the four last things.”

[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][grve_media_box media_type=”image-video-popup” video_link=”” title=”” image=”7137″][/grve_media_box][vc_column_text css=”.vc_custom_1449585605896{margin-top: -28px !important;}”]

Documentary: Hieronymus Bosch with Brian Sewell

[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row lk_dm=”0″ lk_thm=”0″ lk_tuo=”0″ lk_dt=” “][vc_column][grve_icon_box icon_size=”small” align=”center” icon_animation=”yes” icon=”copyright” icon_color=”blue” title=”Copyright Information” text_style=”subtitle” animation=”fadeInLeft” animation_delay=”50″]The images on this page are not authored by Lines & Marks. They are shared under “fair use” for non-profit, educational and reference purposes, and may be subject to copyright. If for any reason this status is contested, notify us and we will remove the image(s) immediately. All other, © Lines & Marks, 2015. [/grve_icon_box][/vc_column][/vc_row]